JANUARY 30, 2014 Special Town Council Meeting

The January 30, 2014, Special Town Council Meeting was called to order by John L. Lewis, Jr., President of the Foster Town Council, at the Benjamin Eddy Building, Foster, Rhode Island, at 6:35 p.m.

The following members were present: John L. Lewis, Jr., President, Pamela Fontaine, Vice President, Neal C. Whitelaw, Denise DiFranco, and Roger L. Hawes.

- I. PLEDGE OF The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. ALLEGIANCE
- II.ANNOUNCE-
MENTSJohn L. Lewis, Jr. stated that he had a confirmation email from the
Secretary of State showing that the agenda had been posted correctly.

Pamela Fontaine read the disclaimer "NOTICE: The Foster Town Council does not sanction any electronic audio/video recordings of Town Council Meetings made by the public. Any audio/video recordings made by the public are not public records under Title 38 Public Records."

III. EXECUTIVE
SESSIONNeal Whitelaw moved, Roger Hawes seconded, to go into Executive
Session pursuant to RIGL 42-46-5a(1) Personnel and to reconvene
into open session and to further keep the minutes of said meeting
closed and the minutes of all executive sessions held previous to this
meeting remain closed in accordance with provisions in RIGL 42-46-
4 & 5. No discussion.

John L. Lewis, Jr., aye; Pamela Fontaine, aye; Roger Hawes, aye; Denise DiFranco, aye; and Neal Whitelaw, aye. Motion passed 5-0.

- IV. NEW BUSINESS Scheduling of Interviews
 The council reconvened into Open Session. John Lewis announced that an agreement was reached in Executive Session to interview seven of nineteen applicants for the position of DPW Director in Executive Session. The date was set for Monday, February 10, 2014, at fifteen minute intervals starting at 6:30 p.m. in the Town Hall. The procedure agreed upon was to interview each candidate and ask for references, picture ID and have them sign a BCI waiver.
 - **V. ADJOURNMENT** Pamela Fontaine moved, Denise DiFranco seconded, and it was so voted to adjourn the meeting.

John L. Lewis, Jr., aye: Pamela Fontaine, aye; Roger Hawes, aye; Denise DiFranco, aye; and Neal Whitelaw, aye. Motion passed 5-0.

Meeting adjourned at 7:35 p.m.

A digital sound file is made a part of the record for a complete account of the council meeting.

Submitted by,

Carol Lyons Sholly, CMC Deputy Town Clerk